|

Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 08/09/08 10:55 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

Okay, I just turned into blubbering idiot.

Minerva, God bless her, did the right thing. And Luna, well, she knew just what to say.

You're right, this needed to be written, to fill in that gaping hole in the story.

I know JKR has never been able to understand why we fans love Severus, s in her mind he's just a plot devise and has NO redeeming qualities: the total greasy git.

We, however, know better and know he deserved better than she gave him.  That was the one part of the whole 7 books I found fault with and why I think this is going to be printed out and put inot the pages of my copy of DH, just before the Epilogue.

Thank you for doing the right thing for Severus and for us fans. Bravo.



Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your review; I'm touched and flattered that you found this story to be a fitting tribute to our beloved Potions Master.  I was horrified at the conclusion of DH when mention was made of what happened to Voldemort's body, but no mention whatsoever was made of Professor Snape's body. And try as I might, I couldn't shake the image of him lying in the Shrieking Shack, forgotten, while everyone else was celebrating.  And that's why I wrote this story, and I appreciate knowing that it touched you.  You don't know what that means to me, especially right now. 


Name: SiriuslyPeeved (Signed) · Date: 27/08/08 11:45 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1
This was marvelous and very moving. I had a difficult time finishing it through the tears in my eyes, even though it was not exactly how I imagined McGonagall reacting to Snape's murder, you have done it beautifully.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!  An unexpected review like yours always makes my day.  I'm pleased you found the story moving.  To be honest, I have such deep feelings for the character of Snape that the days after I finished DH were very difficult for me.  This story was written very quickly and was very cathartic.  Thanks again for your kind words.


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 14/07/08 4:00 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1
This was very touching. I had tears in my eyes when Luna whispered to him about needing friends and being lonely. That was a perfect touch, including her. Minvera calling him "child" was also very poignant. It reminded me that he needed someone to care for him, and had just never been able to find it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!  I appreciate that you picked up on those two details in the story. I've always felt that Luna and Snape would somehow understand each other and I think Minerva, in her heart, would have been able to see the child when she looked at the man.


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 24/06/08 3:41 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1

I know that Snape's your favourite character and Luna is mine, so I really liked your characterisation of her here.  I too believe that under Luna's exterior that she doesn't miss a trick.  I know that if Luna had heard the truth from Harry that she would have done just what you had her do here.  I like too, that you didn't have Harry helping Minerva.  It just wouldn't have felt right.  I would have bought Hermione, but only her from the trio.  It gave a real emotional kick to have Minerva cleaning his body.

I enjoyed reading the old tradition of staying up with the dead.  Modern funerals and services seem to me to be a bit impersonal and slightly disrespectful to the dead. 

Thank you for sharing this sweet vision of a well-deserved tribute to Snape.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and kind words about the story.  I appreciate it!


Name: Jen (Signed) · Date: 13/05/08 10:39 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
Lovely and truely heartfelt. I cried for Severus all over again.
Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review; I'm pleased you enjoyed it!


Name: Des (Anonymous) · Date: 29/03/08 12:00 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1
I loved this story since the first time I read it. You did Severus Snape the justice that JKR did not. I like how you are able to create an atmosphere and establish the mood with few words.

Author's Response: Thanks Des!


Name: Ford the Prefect (Signed) · Date: 27/03/08 11:20 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
Your story is very beautiful, and deeply moving. And yes, it's a very good example of the types of scenes that should have been included in the book.

Very nice.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!  I appreciate the time you took to read my story and leave a review.


Name: Bella_Portia (Signed) · Date: 25/03/08 8:47 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
This is described as a one-shot. I hope you will consider a second chapter. That was lovely. Forgive me that I can't really say any more. The emotion comes right through.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hadn't honestly considered writing a second chapter, but now you have me thinking about it. I appreciate the time you took to read my story and leave a review.


Name: Renfair (Signed) · Date: 25/03/08 5:05 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
WAAAAHHH! Ginny! Why do you write such sad sad stories? That was so touching and well done. Luna's line, "I know how it feels to be alone, Sir," just made tears well up in my eyes. YOU NEED TO WRITE MORE STORIES! You're really amazing at gathering together your emotion and then expressing it through your words. I think a lot of people felt the need to write something similar to this after reading that book. I simply continued with my own fic so at least MY Severus could be happy and alive! This was truly wonderful. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you, Renny! You're always so sweet and encouraging in your reviews; it's one of the things that keeps me writing. I have two other stories I'm working on currently and I hope you'll have a chance to read them if I ever finish.


Name: potterverse (Anonymous) · Date: 23/03/08 6:52 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
What a fitting story. I appreciated that way you gave Severus his privacy, not parading him through the Great Hall. I also found it very fitting that Luna was there and that she was so kind and understanding. I have written a few Luna and Severus stories (staff/student not romantic) and I think that they have a very balancing effect on each other. They are quite yin and yangish. Luna is one of my favorite characters, as is Severus. I was also touched by your portrayl of Minerva. I found it very true to her character, and yet suprisingly tender at the same time. You showed her deep respect and her regret in misjudging Severus. I look forward to reading your other work.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind and encouraging review! Outside of Snape, Luna is my favorite character and I also adore writing Minerva. Your review absolutely brightened my day; I value your opinion highly. Thanks again.


Name: JLHufflepuff (Signed) · Date: 22/03/08 12:07 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
This is so touching and heart-breaking. It's a scene I never even considered, and you did it so amazingly well.. The emotions are so heavy and honorable. I couldn't help thinking the whole time that Renny would probably be bawling! :) GREAT job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I appreciate your thoughtful review. I wrote this a few days after I finished Deathly Hallows when I was still grief-stricken. We might have to scrape Renny off the floor if she reads it! ;-)


You must login (register) to review.