Gluttony: Fanfiction
Indulge Yourself!

Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 19/09/08 12:07 AM · for: Chapter 6

That was beautiful, Jamie.  The whole story.  I'm even willing to suspend my disbelief that after just one summer they would be that in love and be getting married, and that Sirius will be the seeing eye dog.  I had forgotten that you worked with training seeing eye dogs.  I think I understand where you got the idea for this story now.  And I really love love the idea of Delia having one... but Sirius has to be a human sometimes, lol. 

This line:  It was the difference between independence and dependence. Between wanting Remus and needing Remus. That one took my breath away.  The difference between wanting him and needing him... wow... even for those of us who don't have a disability isn't that what we want... to be able to take care of ourselves and be with someone because we want to, and not because we have to.  Very poignant.  I loved this story, Jamie!



Author's Response: Thank you so much.. I really appreciate your comments. Yes, it is difficult to believe that would all happen so quickly.. it's much quicker of a story than ODaD, focused more on the similarities of the characters and Delia's need. And the Sirius as a guide dog.. haha.. yes that was because of my experience with guide dogs. I meant it more of him just being around for her when Remus had to go away.. like on full moons and such. Eventually, I suppose Remus will explain everything to her. I'm glad you liked that line and this story! It was a lot of fun to write and the quickest story I ever wrote. I really want to come back and write a sequel one day. I want to come back to Remus and Delia. Thanks a lot!


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 18/09/08 11:26 PM · for: Chapter 5
*sob*   It's so sad.  I've pondered if I had to lose my sight or my hearing, I would probably choose hearing... I know enough sign language to get by (and could learn the rest I suppose) but I can't imagine not being able to see.  But not being able to see or hear... how do you communicate?  I know you could learn the sign language in the hand like Helen Keller, but it seems so much harder than just one or the other.  I'm glad that he stuck with her.  I'm curious did you do any research, would the hearing really go that quickly, or was that creative license on your part?

Author's Response: I know.. I think a lot of blindness and how terrible it would be. I've worked with guide dogs, my dad works with computers and those with disabilities, really sharing a lot about those who are blind, and it's just really difficult to imagine. But being both blind and deaf.. that.. wow.. it would be really hard. I kept on imaging that when I was writing this. Yeah, the only thing I can imagine is sign language into the hand, but that's got to be tough. You'd be so dependent on someone else at all times. I did try to look up as much as I could about Usher Syndrome, but I didn't look about the hearing going that quickly. I really doubt it would.. I'd think it would fade more over time, but it worked better for the story to have it all go at once. Hopefully it doesn't seem too odd like that.


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 17/09/08 11:53 PM · for: Chapter 4
Wow... 10 minutes?  That really is fast.  Of course Remus would want to ttry to cure her if he could...or if he could find someone who could.  I'm a little surprised that Sirius was acting as the voice of reason here.  Another great, chapter, Jamie!

Author's Response: Yeah.. haha.. it really is quick, and Remus will do everything he can for her. Thanks so much for the review.. I appreciate it!


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 17/09/08 11:29 PM · for: Chapter 3

Remus is a tad bit defensive, no?  Calling his daughter a big baby is surely not going to win him points, lol.  Other than that, I really loved this chapter.  It is rather ironic that Remus has a date and Sirius doesn't, lol. 

I like some of the minor details that help to put the stoy back in the 70's, like the sandwiches being wrapped in foil instead of in baggies, and the John Denver song.  Too bad, Delia's name isn't Annie ;o).



Author's Response: Yes.. for Remus to have a date and Sirius not to.. that's just a bit odd. But this story is about Remus, so Sirius has to just deal with that. ;) Honestly, I didn't even think about the sandwiches being wrapped in foil, but that song took me awhile to come up with. I had to ask my parents on that one, and when I heard it, it was perfect. I just wanted to be able to put a couple more lines of the song in the story, but I guess you can't do that. Thanks!


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 16/09/08 5:28 PM · for: Chapter 2
Kissing in James & Lily's room...shame, shame.  Again I like that you write the stories in first person and from the different point of views.  I also liked the fact that Remus did tell her the truth about what happened to him, even if she didn't realize it.  I hope that they are able to open up to each other a little more, as I see the beginnings of a lovely relationship here.

Author's Response: Yes, yes.. what's wrong with those two? Haha. They are beginning to know each other a bit more now, though opening up may take some time. They both have hidden pasts that they don't like to reveal to too many people, but that might change. Thanks again!


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 16/09/08 4:22 PM · for: Chapter 1

I really like that you're doing the different points of view.  and the bit about the 99 bottles of butterbeer was funny.  I liked the comparison between Remus wanting to hide his scars and Delia wanting to hide hers, it was subtly done. 

I think these two will find they have more in common than they think.  I just wonder if he will tell her about, and how she will take the idea of, magic.  Nicely done!



Author's Response: It was difficult to try to write in Delia's POV the whole time, and I wanted to give a little insight into Remus's character.. showing a bit how similar the two are. Yes, they really have more in common than they'd first think and a lot of their relationship is figuring that out. Thanks again for the review!


Name: ginwannabe (Signed) · Date: 16/09/08 1:49 PM · for: Prologue

Wow...whatever gave you the idea to write a story about Usher Syndrome?  Do you know someone who has it?  I have a friend who's son was being tested for it, but they don't think he has it.

You've done a really good job of setting up the stage for this story.  Giving enough of the history for us to feel connected to Delia, making us want to find out what will happen to her.  I'm still a little confused as to what happened to her mother... she was there when she was diagnosed it seems, but is now dead?  Great start to the story, though.  I'm looking forward to reading the rest.



Author's Response: No, I don't know anyone who has Usher Snydrome. I actually had to research a lot about it before I started writing this. I just had a dream or some type of inspiring thought (I can't remember) about what would happen if the Marauders went on a beach vacation and ran into a Muggle with some type of disability. I original was just going to go with her being blind, but I came across Usher Syndrome as one of the causes and I realized how terrible that would be and decided to go with it (okay, it sounds cruel, but it interests me). Anyways, I'm glad you liked this beginning. It's really the introduction of the character and plot, before too much happens. Yes, her mother died when she was growing up.. well her adoptive mother (I might be giving out spoilers here, though I know you've already read it all now). Thanks for the review!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 11:46 PM · for: Chapter 6
Jamie! I'm so sad it's over... but so happy with how it ended. This is my favorite of yours, now... I can't really describe how incredible it is. In only 7 chapters, you've made me love Delia and Remus, and especially their relationship, and you have the power to bring tears to my eyes like few authors I've ever read. I will really miss this, and don't be surprised if I reread it - it's definitely worth it. Wonderful, indescribable job.

Blaire

Author's Response: Thank you. This was such a fun story to write, even if it was a bit depressing. I like happy endings though, and I just had to give Remus and Delia that happy ending. I wrote this story really quickly (like in a week), so their story definitely inspired me. I may think of writing a sequel one day, but I keep on getting distracted. Thanks so much for your wonderful reviews!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 11:25 PM · for: Chapter 5
Oh, Jamie... if other people weren't in the room, I'd be sobbing right now. As it is, I'm still unable to keep from tearing up. You have no idea what this is doing to me... every bit of it is so wonderful. I'm not a believer in love at first sight, but the way you write this is so convincing, beautiful, and heartbreaking all at the same time. Especially the last scene... it's indescribable. I hesitate to go on to the last chapter, because I really don't want this story to end yet. I can honestly say that no story has affected me quite like this. It's truly incredible.

Blaire

Author's Response: I'm sorry I made you tear up. I probably should have a tearjerker warning attached. :) I usually don't like characters to be in love with each other right away, but because of how this story worked out, it had to be done. I'm glad it was convincing for you.. I tried the best I could to show Remus and Delia's relationship in a way that made it realistic as possible. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I really do appreciate your reviews!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 11:12 PM · for: Chapter 4
Delia has such an interesting outlook on some things. For example: it kept me at an advantage to hold back my feelings. I'd have never thought of that as a reason not to tell someone something. I, like most writers, would give the "I couldn't say it" excuse. What you wrote is brilliant.

No no no! She's going to lose her hearing so soon? That's so sad :( I feel like there could me hope, but - I dunno. I just know that you write so believably and convincingly that I sympathize with Delia as if she was my own friend, or myself. :( You're such a wonderful writer, Jamie.

Blaire

Author's Response: I'm glad you like that part. I think it's a bit of my psychology background coming out there, expressing some of Delia's thoughts. Plus, I think way too much about things.. haha. Yeah, this story is pretty sad overall.. but I'm glad you like it. Thanks again for the review!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 10:43 PM · for: Chapter 3
I like the awkwardness between Remus and Delia at first - it's very real, and in a way just adds to their compatibility. It’s nice how Remus notices things but doesn’t make a big deal over them – like Delia being a messy eater. And they are definitely a good pair. And - oh, so he's found out now... I wonder what will happen next! Best way to find out is to continue reading, obviously :P Honestly, great job, Jamie. I really love this.

Blaire

Author's Response: It has to take them a little bit of time to get to know each other and for Delia to realize Remus is a good guy. They really are very compatable, more so than I even though about before I started writing this. Thanks again for the review.. I'm so glad you like it!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 9:55 PM · for: Chapter 2
This story's just getting better and better! I like the way you described the kiss - it was very unique and unclichéd, and definitely made me smile :) The dialogue leading up to it as well. The chemistry between Remus and Delia is incredible and addicting. You're really stunning me, Jamie! :D I'm not sure what else to say, except that I hate that this is only 7 chapters, because I'm really going to miss it when I'm done reading. But no use thinking about that now! On to chapter 4! :D

Blaire

Author's Response: Thanks. I thought long and hard about the kiss, and I'm glad it didn't turn up too cliched. Remus and Delia are so much fun to write together, and I'm glad you like their conversations. Delia is a fun character, even if her situation isn't great. I know, I've been wanting to write a sequel for this story, but I just haven't gotten the inspiration for it. We'll see.. maybe. Thanks for the review!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 9:37 PM · for: Chapter 1
Oh, Jamie. (Wait - I started the last review that way too, didn't I? :P ) How wonderfully you show how different Remus's point of view is from Delia's! And I like the way they meet. I also like how he sees her as beautiful immediately, even with the scars and bruises, while she thinks she is ugly. They have that in common, of course - the scars. Anyway, I really love this - you've got a wonderful way of writing OC-based stories. Very good :) Reading on!

Blaire

Author's Response: Yeah, Remus's POV is certainly different from Delia's, but the two are much more similar than what it appears like. Delia has a bit of a false sense of what she looks like, much like many girls think of themselves like. Remus sees through all of that, and yes, the scars are part of what makes them pretty similar. I tend to like writing and coming up with OCs.. I'm so glad you like my OC stories. I just wish I could write original stories as easily as I do OC HP stories. Thanks!


Name: Eyriana (Signed) · Date: 14/09/08 9:22 PM · for: Prologue
Oh, Jamie! This is already so incredible. I completely forgot who wrote it while I was reading - it's so different from Dogs and Dragons! I absolutely love it so far. Your first person narration is great - I feel like I already know Delia so well. You managed to give a good amount of background information so that it's comfortable, and not over-descriptive. I love it, Jamie - and you already made me tear up! (Good thing, I assure you ;)) Wonderful chapter - I'm going on straight away.

Blaire

Author's Response: Thanks so much for checking this story out! You and your reviews are awesome! Yeah, my writing tends to be really diverse, from writing about dogs to kids to dark stories of angst (Four Years). I'm so glad you like it so far.. I don't do first person narration too much, but I just had to do it with this story to get Delia's personality through, as well as Remus in the later chapters. I really appreciate the review! :)


Name: Jen (Signed) · Date: 05/06/08 8:07 PM · for: Chapter 6
That was lovely Labby and very sweet. Thanks for uploading the rest of the story. I was surprsed and very touched by Padfoot's final appearance. Wonder how she would take the whole wizard thing... Not to mention the little furry problem... he hasn't been very honest with her has he?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of your reviews, Jen! I'm a huge Sirius fan, so I couldn't let the ending of him be bad. There is a lot that isn't really resolved in this story (the wizard and werewolf thing mainly), but I like to think it all worked out. I may possibly think of doing a sequel, but that would be sometime in the far future.


Name: Jen (Signed) · Date: 03/06/08 12:28 AM · for: Chapter 4
Aaaaargh... You're killing me here Labby. I was so hoping Madame Pomfrey could do something for her, but that would be too simple. I'll be checking every day for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aww.. sorry. It would be a bit simple. There are only two chapters left, so I'll post one each a day. Thanks again for the review!


Name: Jen (Signed) · Date: 01/06/08 8:22 PM · for: Chapter 3
Ouch. I bet she doesn't like her father telling Lupin that! Thanks for the new chapter Labby. You've made it hard for yourself by choosing to write about Usher Syndrome, but you're doing agreat job so far.
I love this story... very sweet and gentle.

Author's Response: Thanks once again for the review! I'll go ahead and post the next one before I forget. I'm glad that you're liking this - it was a bit difficult to write about Usher syndrome, but it was interesting to be able to do all the research about it. Hopefully, it seemed pretty realistic because I don't know anyone actually with Usher Syndrome.


Name: Jen (Signed) · Date: 25/05/08 10:43 PM · for: Chapter 2
I'm liking this story Labby. Very sweet so far.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like it so far! It's actually all written.. I just need to stop be so lazy about posting it. :)


You must login (register) to review.