|

Name: granpa harry (Signed) · Date: 19/10/12 8:58 AM · Chapter: Dinner Arrivals

wow, even better than the first chapter,

I won't be very happy to find out that there is no more coming

 



Name: granpa harry (Signed) · Date: 19/10/12 7:17 AM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise

wow nice story,

I cannot wait to finish



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 06/09/08 2:23 AM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise

P.S.

I meant to ask . . . what's a sigil?

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response:

A sigil is a symbol that represents something else.  A sigil is usually a personal mark, but not always.  My old dictionary describes it as a 'seal, signet or astrological symbol infused with the power of the stars'.  It's not in my (abridged) modern dictionary.

 



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 06/09/08 1:19 AM · Chapter: Dinner Arrivals

Okay, this chapter was just wall to wall stuff that will have to be explained and detailed for chapters to come!

First off . . . what kidnapping attempt of Rose?  Draco to the rescue?  HOPEFULLY that's one of your other stories I'm going to go thru this morning (got a day off-yippee) and those ?s will be answered.

Luna and Dudley?  OMG, I burned out half a score of brain cells thinking about THAT!

Rolf, the viking.  I just picture Ron standing there with his mouth open at the sight of him. 

Well, update soon as I'm DYING to hear ALL of the details!!!!!!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response:

I am still working out whether to work in the scene with Draco saving Rose from being kidnapped here or in a separate one-shot.  Don't worry about Luna/Dudley, there's not going to be a romantic relationship there, even if Dudley thought it was going to go that way.  She will just be  friend, but a strange one for Dudley.

Rolf will explain his outfit later, as will Dudley.  I actually have a RL friend that I based Rolf's look on.

 



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 06/09/08 12:57 AM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise

Just another day at the Auror's office, or so it seemed, until those two showed up!

10 years hiding in America.  Okay, I can believe that, even if Lavender and her famly were magical.

Dudley . . in the army, well, I can see that, too.  Bet they turned all that fat into mucsle pretty fast, too!

Luna and Rolf we know about, so that's just a cute twist between Ginny and Harry's day and it was a nice little scene about their married life.

Speaking of married life . . . .

I'm really looking forward to is how Dudley and Lavander met.  THAT is going to be interesting. So, I better stop typing and start reading!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response:

Yes, I promise that I have thought about all of this and answers are coming to everything.  At the time Dudley joined the army, he won't have been too fat, just a little out of shape, he did box competitively after all.

I just can't seem to write a story without Luna.  I'm currently re-writing the chapter where Dudley talks about meeting some important people in his life, so it will be a few chapters before I get to how he met Lavender.



Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 14/07/08 1:13 PM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise
I love the descriptions you included of Rolf and Dudley. I can picture them quite clearly, and can imagine the little dinner party looked quite interesting. Lavender's story looks intriguing, and I can't wait to hear more of how Dudley has changed. I think we saw the very beginnings of that in DH, and I look forward to see how you develop it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.  I'm glad that I was able to convey the dinner scene clearly enough for you to picture it.  I sometimes struggle with description and emotion.  You will definitely see how Dudley has changed and how he has not changed.  What I mean is that Dudley will be different, but still have Dudley-type problems.


Name: Labby (Signed) · Date: 12/06/08 3:25 PM · Chapter: Dinner Arrivals
Alright, you've definitely got me into this story now. I love how you've added a bit of mystery here. So there was some type of kidnapping before? And does that have to relate to Rose being saved (?) by Malfoy? I hope you go into more detail about that. I'm really interested to see what happened. I also like the defenses that Harry's set up, even the little details like it being set to call Ginny, Ginerva make it interesting and cute. I do wonder what happened between Dudley and Luna. They don't seem to be too angry at one another, so that's interesting. Anyways, great chapter and I'm looking forward to more!

Author's Response:

Yes, there was a kidnapping attempt on Rose that was thwarted by Draco.  I hope to show that in a future chapter, but first Dudley, Lavender and Dudley&Lavender have to tell their tales (and perhaps Luna and Rolf as well, I'm more ambivalent about that--Luna's in this story for a different reason).  The next chapter will be about Dudley and Luna.  They did part on good terms, that's all I'm going to say about them right now.  Originally when I planned this fic, it was a Dudley/Luna fic, but I just couldn't stretch Luna that far.  When I decided on Lavender, a whole world of sub-plots relating to her disability opened up. 

You will see Hermione in an AU job coming up soon as a security consultant, which explains the wards and protections.  I think I definitely have a twisted perception of the HP universe. 

 Thank you for the great review.  I appreciate the feedback.

 



Name: Labby (Signed) · Date: 12/06/08 3:14 PM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise
I've been looking at this banner, intrigued by it for a long time, and I've finally gotten a chance to start it. I really like this so far. I would have never pictured a Dudley/Lavender ship, but I love it so far. It does seem like Dudley's changed a lot based on him marrying not only a witch, but a crippled witch as well. It will be interesting to see the development that takes place there. I really loved how this kind of just went into the usual day of Harry and Ginny. I don't think I've read anything else that just focuses a bit on that or a bit on when the kids were younger. I loved the Dean part - that was really cute and a nice little addition to this. Great story so far and I'm off to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.  I, too, absolutely love the banner.  Marauder by Night did an awesome job with it and I want to give her props for it <thumps chest, raises fist>.  Yes, Dudley will definitely be a changed person and you will get to see some of that change.  I believe that being an older married man gives me a perspective on the quotidienne lives of a married couple.  I base how Harry and Ginny flirt a bit on how my wife and I interact.   Please, if you have CC, feel free to ladle it on liberally.  I appreciate your review and love honest feedback.


Name: juls (Signed) · Date: 29/05/08 12:39 AM · Chapter: Dinner Arrivals
Well, well, well- more surprises. Totally delightdul chapter again.

I loved how you've set up how people enter into the Potter household. Truly inventive.

So far, all of your characters seem to be in character. You do a delightful Luna, and it seems Rolf is the perfect match for her in his ways.

So.... Luna dated Dudley... nice subplot there dear.

I'm liking how this story is going- so far it has a lot of little twists to it. Can't wait to read more.

Huggles,

!1juls

Author's Response: I swear that I have a valid reason why Dudley and Luna were dating and I will get to it in the next chapter or the one after that.  I've been working on keeping Luna IC, since in my first fic she was way OOC (of course having a Dementor inside you will do that).  Rolf has a line coming up that will define his personality and his relationship with Luna, but he will really be a minor character here.  I don't know why I picture him as a Viking, but I do.  Thanks for reading and reviewing.


Name: juls (Signed) · Date: 29/05/08 12:28 AM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise
Great beginning here to the story, Carl. I like how you led in with the normalcy of the day for our two favorite aurors- and then dropped the surprise on them. It wasn't only having Lavender pop back up from the dead- but having her soon to be husband Dudley. Of all the people in the world, you'd never expect them to hook up. But it your explanations of it all are workable- good job in that. Can't wait to hear futher on how they met up, and then fell in love.

10 years is a long time to stay hidden, so hopefully we get to hear alot about what happened in those 10 years.

Then we move to the Potter household- nice to see how well Harry interacts with his children and his wife. The banter between them was sweet- and shows just how well the past few years have been for them.

Okay... on to the next chapter!!

huggles,

~~juls

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.  I'm happy that you like the surprise of Dudley and Lavender showing up engaged.  Dudley and Lavs tales will be coming up soon on how they met and what's going on between them.  I base a lot of the way that Harry treats Ginny on how me and my wife interact.  Not that I'm saying that I'm like Harry and she's like Ginny, but that that's my point of reference for married interaction.  I'm glad that this seems to be the sort of story that might draw people into the world.


Name: JLHufflepuff (Signed) · Date: 26/04/08 6:34 AM · Chapter: Dudley's Surprise
Whoah. I love how this brings together a lot of your conception of the post-war relationships and how they formed. I've always imagined Dudley marrying a witch, and I like the situation you set up with Lavender. It shows something about Dudley's character that he is willing to not only marry a witch but a crippled woman! It was funny at the end when Ginny teased Harry with the joke about Dean.. and the fact that she encountered Luna and Rolf made for yet another surprise... I can't wait to see what dinner with such ... assorted ... company will produce!

Author's Response: Jessi, this was the second fanfic idea that I had, after "The Dementor's First Kiss".  I had it planned out in my head, but not really outlined or anything.  I've been working on another story, but this one just kept popping up.  Dudley will definitely be a changed character.  I'm hoping that I'll be able to show the  Dudley/Luna interaction at the dinner party that I can see in my head.  I have my own ideas about Rolf, too, since we don't know much about him in canon.   Suffice it say that he'll be an interesting match for Luna, as Lavender will be for Dudley.  I hope that I can do the characters justice.  Thanks for the review, I appreciate it. 


You must login (register) to review.