|
Reviews For In a Family Way

Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 2:48 AM · Chapter: Chapter 11-Epilogue
What a sweet way to sum it up. I love how you have Harry recognize Arthur officially as his father. That was beautiful.

Author's Response: Arthur has a very special place in my heart. He's such a good daddy, and I thought he needed credit for that. He's always taken care of Harry, and now Harry is realizing how priceless he is. I can't believe you did the whole thing! I am amazed! Thanks!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 2:44 AM · Chapter: Chapter 10-And Baby Makes Three
I absolutely loved Ron's reaction to havging to 'go down there' That was brilliantly done and I could picture it vividly. It is nice to see someone who write a baby fic that actaully seems to know what it is like to have a baby! I think you did a wonderful job at this story, and I didn't expect anything less from you.

Author's Response: I could not resist messing with Ron like that. You know he was positively mortified. After 4 kids, I better know what it's like to have babies. Glad the reality came through. I hate the ones that obviously don't know what they're talking about. Thanks so much!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 2:32 AM · Chapter: Chapter 9-Getting There is Half the Fun?
The best movie ever in fact! It is number one absolute! Anyway, enough about Buttercup and sweet Wesley. I love the note that Draco sent, and you gave some nice forshadowing with the disregarding of the part in the book that had to do with delivering the baby. What a happy homecoming for Ron and Hermione!

Author's Response: I knew you'd love the movie reference. It IS one of the best movies ever! I tried very hard to keep Draco in character, doing something nice out of his own selfish reasons. Glad you are enjoying it!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 2:18 AM · Chapter: Chapter 8-The Name Game
Wow, I didn't know they made a t-shirt for that. Both great movies... havent seen either of them in so long. I like how you had Ginny determine the name, especially the bit about her shouting it out loud, that was great!
And oh, Ron, so sweet and I just love him! I really enjoy your writing so much. You make it seem to effrotless.

Author's Response: I'm glad it seems effortless, because it sure was like pulling teeth to write! These few chapters were so hard to get going! I am glad they came out okay. I find that the more I write Ron, the more I love him. Thanks again.


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 2:05 AM · Chapter: Chapter 7-Scary Situations
LOL. That was great! Go Harry! I love that ending, so perfect. Poor Ginny and her bedrest, but you described the trauma so perfectly and Asteria's calmness was perfect. I loved the make up scene with Ron as well, it shows how much he has grown since being in school, and there is nothing that I love more than a mature ROn.

Author's Response: I refuse to write Ron as an idiot. Emotionally constipated, yes, but he's no idiot. I love to think of him as growing up and becoming the man we knew he would. Again, Asteria is an interesting character that I may have to revisit. I'd like to show how she and Draco ended up together. Thanks for reviewing.


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 1:41 AM · Chapter: Chapter 6-Coming Home
Ah yay. I love that you are bringing in James, Lily and Sirius in a way that is normal. I am going to love the advise that I am sure will come from that direction. Already pretty happy with the reaction of Sirius in the first place. It was such a nice idea... go Harry!

Author's Response: Gotta love Sirius, right? He just says what he wants. That was fun. It was just so nice to give Harry a bit of what he's always dreamed of: a home, a family, peace...what else is there? Glad you liked it.


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 1:18 AM · Chapter: What Have We Done?
My only question is where was Teddy during these two talks? He is old enough to sort of understand what was being said, was he in the room with the guys? Otherwise I loved the two different conversations... they are so similar to everything I have heard from my friends who have had babies.
Wonderful job.

Author's Response: I kinda let Teddy run out and play with Victoire or something, otherwise the guys would not have felt as 'free' to discuss things as they were. I actually grilled my husband for issues and fears first time dads have. The one about seeing the new 'toys' but not getting to play with them just cracked me up. Thanks for reviewing!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 12:32 AM · Chapter: Conflicting Appointments
I love Draco... you painted that scene so well. Their animosity evident and both of their instincts so natural. I loved it. And of course there was that sweet little side of him, nice to see he has a heart somewhere.

Author's Response: See, this is why I LOVE review a thons! Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you are enjoying it. Draco is fun to write, and I am playing around with the idea of writing his and Asteria's story later. He's still a jerk, but it would be nice for him to have found someone. Thanks again!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 06/05/09 12:02 AM · Chapter: Battles and Bat Bogeys
Oh who could be with George... I am going to hazard a guess since I know that you are generally canon. I am excited for the revelation though. I have a feeling that you will make it highly enjoyable.

Author's Response: Oh, you know I'm a canon girl. I can't go too far off track here, so it won't be a shock. I do have a small bit later related to that. I'm so glad you liked it. Georgie needs some love and happiness.


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 05/05/09 12:01 PM · Chapter: Surprises All Around
LOL... you freaking brilliant... I dont know if I have told you that often enough. That was a perfect ending to this chapter. I wish I could pick out my favorite line but there are just so many to choose from. I loved Ron's reaction and Harry's play on words... everything. Now I need to go to bed, but promise I will be back, this review a thon is on!

Author's Response: Yay for review a thons! I'm actually blushing from this review! Brilliant is not a word I would use to describe myself. This chapter was so much fun to write! I could see Ron's face in my mind while I wrote. Poor guy. I mess with him WAY too much in this story. Thanks for reviewing!


Name: SpringTime (Signed) · Date: 05/05/09 11:23 AM · Chapter: A Change of Plans
Your humor is wonderful. I love how you put it into your stories... it is all so natural and unforced. Nothing overly comedic about it, just normal observations on reality. (i.e. Ginny having control of his sex life, his dirty thoughts while she is vomiting, etc.) I love it. I am finally reading this (was only hesitant because I dont usually read stories with Harry as the main character). Glad I did though. Great job (of course I expected no less from you).

Author's Response: It is a little intimidating to write Harry, just because JK did it so well. I'm glad you broke your rule for me! I try to make their relationship as real as possible. I actually hear them conversing in my head. Does that make me crazy? :)


Name: SiriuslyPeeved (Signed) · Date: 10/02/09 11:15 AM · Chapter: A Change of Plans
I just loved this entire story. You had me howling with laughter at so many places and you have the little indignities of pregnancy down to a T. I was almost going to look for the crystallized ginger reading it, you brought back so many memories for me!

The epilogue is a beautiful touch to end with, after all, who knows better how to cope with the pressures of being a dad than Arthur Weasley. I'm glad you didn't let Harry go to the portraits for everything, but instead to rely on his real-life extended family. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, the portraits were a sweet touch, but Harry's parents really don't know much about parenting, do they? I mean, sure, they love Harry, but they never had to discipline him for getting detention or sneaking out. They never had him get drunk on firewhiskey or steal an enchanted car, Lily and James didn't really get the opportunity to be parents. Arthur, on the other hand, totally rocks the dad thing. He seems to let Molly lead the family, but you get the feeling that not much gets past him. He's just easy going, and loves to have fun. Wonder where Fred and George got it? I had to show that Harry has plenty of back up, and a strong role model in Arthur. The pregnancy stuff was so much fun to write. Having been through it several times, I just had to do a realistic preggers fic. You see so much that is just so NOT gonna happen. I had so much fun writing this. Thanks for letting me know you appreciated it, it made my day!~GW


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 20/01/09 11:45 AM · Chapter: Chapter 11-Epilogue

I thought I reviewed this when I first read it, but obviously I didn't.  This is a brilliant little epilogue to the story. 

 Arthur, while very strange, is an excellent father and certainly cares about his children and Harry. 

I'm not a father, but I'll bet most fathers struggle with feelings of inadequacy as they contemplate the effort that raising children will take.  It's a daunting task and I tip my cap to all those who choose that path.

The parts with James (the father) were very poignant.  He would have loved his grandson had he lived and James II would have been a little Marauder, just like grand-dad.



Author's Response: I'm so glad you didn't think the fluff was way over the top. I just wanted to give a glimpse into Harry's fatherhood, and how he realizes he has an excellent role model in Arthur. He spends a lot of time in the series mourning for the parents he doesn't have. I just wanted him to realize what he DOES have right there in front of him now. Thanks so much for taking the time to review! I really needed this one today!


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 16/01/09 12:00 PM · Chapter: Chapter 11-Epilogue

I've been meaning to get back to this story and leave a review for this adorable, touching epilogue.

It was perfect!

Thanks so much for this lovely story!

Feel free to drop your one shots into our laps anytime you like, we'll be sure and let you know how we like them! ( I just know we will!)

HE!HE!HE! 



Author's Response: Thanks so much. It always feels nice to know your work is appreciated! I am working on a few things now, so you will be the first to see them when they're ready. I'm glad you didn't think the epilogue was too cheesy and fluffy. I have a tendency to go there, sometimes!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 9:18 AM · Chapter: Chapter 10-And Baby Makes Three

"Merlin's balls..."

ROFL! That was just the greatest!

This was just a beautiful and brilliant story.

Poor Ron, what you did to him!

And poor Draco, I can see him saying something like, "Not even born yet, and that little Potter is ruining my life!"

Without a doubt, one of the best stories I have ever read.



Author's Response: Wow, what a compliment! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. How do you NOT mess with Ron? It's just too much fun! I knew from the beginning that it had to be him to 'deliver' the baby. He is one of my favorite characters. Thank you so much for reviewing the story. It just made my day!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 8:30 AM · Chapter: Chapter 8-The Name Game
Love how they got the name! Nice nod to Kreacher.

Author's Response: I really wanted it to be an original way, and I have to admit I practiced hollering my second, third, and fourth's names to see how they sounded. After the first, I had a good idea about that! I'm glad you liked Kreacher there. I felt like he needed to be seen serving the Potters with a good heart. After DH, I think he came around. Thanks!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 8:20 AM · Chapter: Chapter 7-Scary Situations

Absolutely, and dramatically wrenching.

Anyone who's ever seen something go wrong in a pregnancy can surely relate to this.

Brings back memories of my brother in law and I chasing the doctor out of the hospital when my first nephew was born!



Author's Response: Complications are never fun. As far as those go, Ginny got off pretty easy, but it still is no picnic to go through. The image of Herry freaking and Ron picking up the slack (as usual) came strongly to me, and I really hoped it came through well. I appreciate your lovely review!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 8:00 AM · Chapter: Chapter 6-Coming Home

Turn on the "Tiny MCE" and use "Paste from word" for formatting; that helped me a LOT.

Very good chapter. The portraits were especially heartbreaking. So well captured. "Gone and knocked her up...?" - I just howled! That was so good. (Pun intended.)

I'm assuming there's a portrait of Remus in Teddy's room, too?

11/10



Author's Response: I'm sure that a portrait of Tonks and Remus will be along. I really wanted to use the old DA members in this, especially Neville, so the house and portraits came to mind. Nobody understands Harry's desire to speak with his parents like Neville does, so I had him do the study and put in the pictures for Harry. It makes me so happy that the emotion came through well and not too 'cheesy'. I appreciate it!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 7:15 AM · Chapter: Conflicting Appointments

Nice confrontation scene in the hospital.

Excellent capture of emotion on all parties.



Author's Response: Thanks. I had so much fun with this chapter. I know that the last chapter of DH showed them being a bit more civil to each other, but I had to take a little poetic license with these two. I'm glad you think I captured them well.


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 09/01/09 2:35 AM · Chapter: A Change of Plans
Very good capture of all the little things that Harry wouldn't know about. Well done. What a pregnancy test!

Author's Response: Yay! You made it over to my little story! I'm glad you think I did well with the test. I hate stories when a witch uses a Muggle test. That's just wrong. Thanks for the review!


Name: reallyginny (Signed) · Date: 08/01/09 7:43 AM · Chapter: Chapter 11-Epilogue
Oh, I loved this to pieces!  First you made me cry, right before it was time to pick up Zack, so it's your fault I have to explain the mascara tracks on my cheeks.  Then my sweet Arthur and his "mighty wave oven" made me laugh and humming the Gryffindor fight song was just the perfect touch.  Lyrical and touching as always.  Just lovely.  *happy sigh*

Author's Response: Oh, I am so glad that it worked with the rest of the story. After posting, I thought "That was a complete piece of fluff and I should take it off". I'm glad I didn't, just to get a sweet review from you! Give Zack a squeeze, and thanks for the lovely encouragement. You know I live for that! :)


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 05/11/08 12:06 PM · Chapter: Chapter 10-And Baby Makes Three

A satisfying end to a brilliant bit of well-written fluff. When I say fluff, it's not an insult-it's hard to write fluff and do it well. 

I was a bit disappointed that Asteria didn't deliver the baby or make another appearance, but having the trio deliver the baby gives it a feeling of 'all in the family' that makes it more dear and closer.

One of the best written stories I have read in a while. 



Author's Response: I appreciate that so much. Fluff is good. I look at it like potato chips, you know you they aren't good for you but you just can't stop. Unless they're greasy and rancid. I've read fluff like that, and it just makes you ill! I really wanted to have Asteria there, but I HAD to have the trio deliver. And Ron catching was to good to pass up. You got the feel I wanted, too. That 'family' feeling, hence the name of the story. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review each chapter. I loved your reviews, and you have such good insights. Thanks again!


Name: norbert1175 (Signed) · Date: 05/11/08 9:39 AM · Chapter: Battles and Bat Bogeys
Now... I LOVED this chapter. If George, of all people, can forgive Draco Malfoy, then Harry should be able to! Being a twin, I know that connection is strong. There's no way I'd be so easy to forgive and forget (I know unChristian of me)... But it was a great way for Harry to see that just because Asteria Malfoy was Ginny's midwife, it wasn't the end of the world. And that, of course, (compromise) is what marriage is all about (well, some of it is). Great Chapter hon!

Author's Response: You KNOW I had to use George in this. Him being the voice of reason was too ironic to pass up. That bond is strong, I have twins in my family and couldn't imagine them apart. I think that is one of the many reasons Fred's death bothered me so much. But, knowing Fred so intimately, George finally came to the realization that he'd be really ticked if he sat around and self-destructed. He had to find a way to move on. Letting go of the hatred and anger that really was so against his own nature was the first place to start. Yeah, there are worse things than Asteria delivering the baby. But if you liked that confrontation, just wait for the next chapter.....


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 04/11/08 11:56 AM · Chapter: Chapter 9-Getting There is Half the Fun?

The Princess Bride is my favourite movie of all time. Hooray! 

I like that they're going to give their old house to Ron and Hermione.   I also really like the name Aisling (My wife played a character in D&D named Aisling Raider).

I always find your writing easy to read and more importantly, fun to read.  It's always interesting and original.

I have a question, that I can't answer since my wife and I have no children--would a woman in labor (even early labor) really want to make love? 



Author's Response: Well, labor symptoms like she started out with can actually start a week or more before the delivery occurs, so unbelievably, yes. And I won't go into any details with that, so just take my word for it. Pregnancy hormones are just weird. Trust me. I am so excited that you are having fun reading this! I appreciate your reviews so much!


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 03/11/08 11:36 AM · Chapter: Chapter 8-The Name Game

Harry at one point says that he would have traded a useless class at Hogwarts 'like Divination or Arithmancy'--only Hermione took Arithmancy, the boys thought she was nuts to study it.

Yes!  I'm not the only one to think that Kreacher would be friendly to Winky and help her out!  And he's respecting Dobby, too--Word!  I also like that he helped Ginny come up with the correct names.  I've got to admit that I was bugged by the names at the end of DH-it seemed they all were picked by Harry and this offers a palatable alternative.  (Although I love the name Lily Luna :) )

I like the baby not liking the parents arguing-very interesting and original.  It's always interesting to me when someone combines Magic with technology as you did with the DVD player--I've done this and received mixed reviews, but I can totally see Harry and Hermione being comfortable with Muggle devices and I can definitely see them both with a mobile phone, so I applaud your decision to put a DVD player in.   Ignore those boors who would tell you that the technology detracts from the magic.

 Excellently done as always.



Author's Response: Thanks so much, Carl. I remembered that Harry didn't take Arithmancy, and that he considered it a complete waste of time. I just thought I'd include it in his diatribe. Kreacher really endeared himself to me at the end of DH, and I thought he would be very proud of Dobby's honorable service to his master. The names bugged me, too, until I began to see it as Ginny's gift to Harry. He would never have asked, knowing he was not the only one to lose loved ones in the wars. Magic and technology, where to start? I have to admit I hate the stories that have the wizards using all the Muggle technology and hardly any magic, but I've been on bed rest. What is a pregnant witch to do without her soap operas? Actually, I don't see Ginny watching soaps, but I can see Harry trying his best to keep her from being bored out of her mind. Being raised as a Muggle, television would probably come to his mind pretty fast. I did get a few reviews complaining about it, but oh well. What else would they suggest to entertain her? She can't very well go play a few rounds of quidditch! Thanks so much for the review!


You must login (register) to review.