|
Reviews For Never Alone

Name: SiriuslyPeeved (Signed) · Date: 18/07/10 11:28 AM · Chapter: Chapter 6
I had forgotten how touching and funny his story was: I too have always thought that the other teachers would be watching out for him. Snape would not like to be reminded, perhaps, that he would have friends if he dared to let them in.


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 12:24 PM · Chapter: Chapter 6
Bravo! I loved it! I don't care if you think that the other professors were acting out of canon character. I could see this happening, really. I do think Severus was badly treated in the series, but only because JK kept trying to get us off the track of his real character. She wanted us to distrust him, just as Harry did. If she had the professors, except Dumbledore, being nice to him it would have ruined the effect. I do think he needed a little TLC. Now I have quite an image of the three of them enjoying that brandy together, Snape pretending to hate it the entire time. Well done, Ginny. I have so missed reading your work.

Author's Response: Thank you from the bottom of my heart. This wasn't a recent foray into the world of fan fic (my entry in the eHPf Christmas drabble WAS,unfortunately! :-D) I'm so pleased you enjoyed it enough to leave a review for every chapter - it is so very appreciated. And yes, I definitely have a mental image of Poppy and Minerva well into their cups, drunkenly singing maudlin old Scottish airs while Snape is just barely tolerating it. Maybe I should have written a final scene....


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 12:14 PM · Chapter: Chapter 5
My twins! They actually did sometihng nice for Snape! I knew I loved them. Again, you have Snape's defenses breached at every frustrating turn. The man may lose his mind before this is all over. Minerva is superb again, allowing Severus his dignity, but not by much. Her sneaking along behind him in cat form is just too sweet. I know Severus doesn't think so, but it is her way of letting him know that he isn't on his own. I LOVED the line in which she tells him that preparing and delivering the Wolfsbane 'isn't a penance". Lovely.

Author's Response: Oh, the twins! *hugs them* Yes, they are Weasleys through and through without a malicious bone in their bodies. A friend and I actually wrote such an outlandish Mary Sue story centering on the twins that the two OCs were named Nancy Sue and Ginger Lou. (Nancy is the "Miss Moore" who loses her eyebrows.) Thank you so much for reviewing each chapter - it's done wonders for my confidence! :-)


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 12:04 PM · Chapter: Chapter 4
Minerva knows, doesn't she? The face Severus shows to the world isn't really him, and Minerva can see right through it. I love the way you write the interaction between them. She is not put off by his harsh words in the least, and gets a kick out of teasing him. Almost sisterly, if you ask me. I have always loved the relationship you've built between the two of them. She gets on his nerves in the worst way, but she cares for him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, I've always thought Snape and McGonagall probably had a friendly relationship and if anyone would understand Severus, it would be acerbic and practical old Minerva. I think she has a soft spot for the lost boys, including Remus and Snape.


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 11:55 AM · Chapter: Chapter 3
These are wonderful, familiar characters. Severus must truly be ill to botch a potion! Poppy is a very smart woman, knowing just how to help him without becoming a hindrance herself. The walls he's built around himself still don't keep a few people from deciding to care about him anyway. The details you put into this are beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Poppy is my second favorite character in the series and she does tend to appear in most of my stories; somehow I think she would understand Severus.


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 11:44 AM · Chapter: Chapter 2
How do you do that? Make Severus so rude and ill-mannered and still make us feel so sorry for the poor thing? You show his hidden demons so well, buried beneath that black cloak and surly countenance. Your version of Remus is spot on, too. He just wants to be helpful, good, not a monster. Regardless of how Snape sees him, he is a good guy. Snape's whole adult life is just clouded with bitterness, isn't it. Great chapter.

Author's Response: It really is. He's at Hogwarts, where the painful memories are practically seeping out of the walls. I can't imagine there is anywhere on the grounds or within the castle that Snape can go without having an associated unpleasant memory. And to have Remus there, as a colleague, must have been especially difficult to take. I have a lot of empathy for him, and I'm glad that's communicated in my stories. Thanks.


Name: Georgia Weasley (Signed) · Date: 22/12/08 11:37 AM · Chapter: Chapter 1
A story from Ginny! YAYAYAYAYAY! And it features her beloved Snape, whom she writes so well. I love the way you depict dear Severus. I have missed him, you know! This is a lovely chapter. I am going on immediately to read more!!!!!!

Author's Response: Awh, you! You always know just when I need a boost and I love your reviews. Thank you for your kind words about my depiction of Snape; I adore him and I'm always pleased when that comes through in my writing.


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 10:29 PM · Chapter: Chapter 4

This chapter had me just howling in laughter so bad that the dog left the room! There were so many great lines, I don't know where to begin!

It's just excellent, and so well captured.

"A ball of yarn, a small rodent?" LOL!



Author's Response: This review absolutely made my day! The scene between McGonagall and Snape was so much fun to write. I think they were very evenly matched in the sarcasm department. Thank you so, so much!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 10:20 PM · Chapter: Chapter 3

Good job of describing how to brew the potion! I liked how Poppy showed up to help him, and all it did was antagonize him.

And Severus is still so 'in'.

 Wonderful chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I always imagined that Wolfsbane preparation would require an enormous amount of time and energy, and that's one of the more enjoyable things about fan fic; taking little clues from canon and expanding on them.


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 8:05 PM · Chapter: Chapter 6

About your author's note.  I agree that this was not how they treated each other, particularly Minerva.  The banter in the previous chapter, while entertaining was definitely OoC for Minerva-my only quibble in the entire story.  I do think we could have seen Remus reaching out to Snape, but Minerva always suspected him despite DD's warnings, much like Harry.  I think Remus knew or suspected something about Snape/Lily and Minerva had no idea.  Even though this isn't canon as you say and you think the characters are OoC, I don't see that.  Just my $.02.  I don't see how anyone could read it and picture a MM/SS pairing and certainly not RL/SS-interesting how some people read stuff into a story.  Maybe it's just part of interpreting a story your own way.

Bwahaha, he sent the brandy.  Brilliant.  Poor little Gloriana, she has no chance, but she'll get over her schoolgirl crush soon enough.

As I think about it, I think the Weasley twins must have been pretty good at Potions.  I would be willing to bet that they got an E or O on their OWLs.  I could see them respecting Snape's talent, whilst simultaneously despising him as a git and possibly a DE.  It would be interesting to see their potions classes.

This fluffy little story warmed my heart and made me feel better about my cold.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading the story in its entirety and reviewing each chapter.  I greatly appreciate it!  I'm pleased you found it heart-warming; I certainly enjoyed writing it.

Interesting that you didn't care for the banter between McGonagall and Snape.  For me, that was the easiest part of the story to write and it was the scene that garnered the most positive feedback in my reviews.  I stand by it the way its written:  I think there was plentiful evidence in canon for a friendly and teasing relationship between Severus and Minerva.  It appeared they were always winding each other up about Quidditch, even going so far as to place wagers on their respective teams.  I also always pictured the two of them having snarky conversations on other subjects; think of when Snape suggested to Lockhart that his time had come at last...Minerva knew immediately what he was doing and jumped in after him.  And the way she skewered Trelawney so neatly at the Christmas luncheon; she was more than a match for Severus in the snark department, and I think she gave as good as she got.  Even in Half-Blood Prince I found hints that they were friendly.  In the infirmary, when Minerva nearly collapsed in shock? It wasn't from the news of Dumbledore's death; it was from the knowledge that Snape was responsible.  I think she almost went down because she her world view and her steadfast opinion of someone had been altered so suddenly and radically.  And when Snape fled the castle in DH, I firmly believe she was furious because she had trusted him and the relationship they shared had been friendly.  She felt betrayed. 

But of course, everyone has different interpretations of the canon characters...that's what makes this fandom so complex and rewarding and so much fun.  Thanks for your .02.  :-)



Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 7:53 PM · Chapter: Chapter 5

I must admit that I feel for Sev right now because I came down with a sudden head-cold yesterday.  For me it's pretty much just stuffiness and a headache, but it sounds more like Sev has the flu, poor guy.

It's so good to see people fussing over him.  Minerva going all Animagus to chase after him is very IC for her. 

The mention of penance was cleverly done.  I think there's a parallel storyline of pennance here- Remus is seeking some pennance for his mistreatment of Sev in the past and Sev is seeking pennance for his time with the DEs.  You work the theme in without beating us over the head with it. 

 



Author's Response: Well, I think I was pretty obvious about the whole penance thing actually, but I'm happy to know I didn't belabor the point. And I loved the idea of Minerva using her Animagus form to keep an eye on him. I read an absolutely lovely fan fic where Snape was recovering from emotional trauma and Minerva changed into her feline form and curled up next to him and purred until he calmed down. Gah, that image just makes me melt. It was only a gesture of comfort, with no other significance, but so sweet and so in character. Sorry to hear you're not feeling well! I find fluffy H/C stories like this very comforting when I'm under the weather.


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 7:42 PM · Chapter: Chapter 4

The bickering from Minerva to Severus was entertaining and I thought the gift from the twins was fun.  I liked the way the twins were talking about Sev, I thought it was very Fred/George.

BTW, my family tartan is a bilious shade of yellow and green IRL, so I found the comment funny.

It's good to see the other staff members making sure that Sev doesn't overextend himself any more than he already has.  I think they cared for him more than he knew. 



Author's Response: I agree, and that was really the theme of this story. I believe Snape was, if not well-liked, then at least respected by the other staff members. Of course, the students hated him thoroughly, but all the same, I think his methods of classroom control, considering how volatile potions can be, were effective. Interesting about your family tartan! I have no idea what McGonagall's tartan actually looks like, save from what we're shown in the movies, so I suppose Snape's subsequent remark could have either been sincere or sarcastic!


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 7:31 PM · Chapter: Chapter 3

Poppy is probably the only one who could get away with gently bullying him like this.  I think you have a real gift for keeping your characters IC. 

This chapter again helps us to see that Snape really is human and not just a bloodless, sarcastic, brooding jerk.



Author's Response: Well, he *is* a sarcastic and brooding jerk, to be sure, but there's also more depth to his character than what we were allowed to see (through Harry's eyes) in canon. And yes, I've always believed that there was a special understanding between Poppy and Severus; she would have known him as a student and as a colleague and I just have a feeling that she wouldn't have been intimidated by his manner.


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 7:23 PM · Chapter: Chapter 2

Hey!  You must have been adding chapters to this as I was reading the first chapter.  I didn't realize it was a chaptered fic.  I thought it was a cute little one-shot.  This allows the characterisation of Snape to continue.

I love this chapter.  As I said in the previous chapter, I really feel that Remus wanted to mend fences and just didn't know how to approach Snape.

I think you capture Remus beautifully as well.  I think he was always the Marauder's conscience and it's a shame that he didn't assert himself more on James and Sirius (and Peter).  I find myself more sympathetic with Severus and agreeing with his assessment of James as "...a bully..."

I like also that you show how perceptive Remus is in catching on to Severus's tea blend.  I think he and the other Marauders must surely have known how Sev felt about Lily (at least a little, they might have just thought he was a stalker type).

I've said it before, but I'll say it again, you make me care about Snape.

 



Author's Response: Thanks for that. Snape is by far my favorite character, and except for the collab, I don't believe I've written a story that doesn't involve him in some way. If I can somehow communicate my affection through what I write, then I consider my stories a success.


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 1:02 AM · Chapter: Chapter 6

"You really should get out more, Minerva"  Well, if that's not the pot calling the kettle black!

THen the line about "Two drunken old witches carousing" had me in roaring hysterics!

Well, things come in threes: he shared his fireballs with Remus, thanked Gloriana for her gift and sent Poppy the wine . . . will wonders never cease?!?!?! 

Excellent story!



Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for reading the entire story and reviewing each chapter!  I appreciate it more than you know!


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 21/12/08 12:10 AM · Chapter: Chapter 5

Bloody stiff necked fool.

Poppy, I have two words for you . . duct tape . . use it to secure Severus to a bed in the infirmary and KEEP HIM THERE!!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response: :-D


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 11:42 PM · Chapter: Chapter 4

"Sod off, Minerva!"

HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!*gasp*HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!

Not once, but twice!

Priceless!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response: Snape always manages to get his snark in, especially when it's Minerva, and even when he feels horrible.  :-D  Thanks for the review!


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 11:30 PM · Chapter: Chapter 3

Pity he has to be sick as a dog to be too weak to snap at people and that makes his "civil".

Poppy, bless her, has known him for, what 25 years, so she understands his moods and how to handle him.

Now get some sleep, Severus, and maybe you'll feel more like your irrasible self in the morning, although I doubt it.



Author's Response: I love Poppy, I truly do, and I think there was much more to her character than what was revealed in canon.  She had to have known everything that was going on in that castle.   Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 8:51 PM · Chapter: Chapter 2

So, Remus knows. 

Good, but I trust Severus will be selfish with his memories and not acknowledge the connection.  Stubborn fool.

AH, well, maybe that's all he needs or wants, just some private memories.



Author's Response: Yes, some jealously-guarded private memories are all he has left of her.  Poor Severus.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 8:41 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

That is me, with every nasty, stinking, oh-God-why-me, I CAN'T get sick cold I've ever had!  Severus, old man, you have my heart felt sympathy . . ALthough you'd deny you need it, wouldn't you.  Put on the scarf, get some tea with lemon and honey, soak in a hot tub and go to bed!  This is Mom-mom talking to you, now MOVE, off you go!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response: Oh, you know him so well, don't you?  Of course he'd deny it!  :-D  Thanks for reading!


Name: BKL8008 (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 8:01 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1
I like this one.
It just drips of "Snape"!
My favorite line: With all the pestilential little first-years running about...
You sound my Auntie.
Well done, for fluff, as you call it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!  It's certainly encouraging to know that I've written Snape in character and I'm pleased you enjoyed the story.  I appreciate your review!


Name: pookha (Signed) · Date: 20/12/08 6:07 PM · Chapter: Chapter 1

I envy your ability to write Snape.  I've tried a few times to include Snape in my stories and have invevitably discarded the sections with Snape in them.  I think you always characterise him beautifully, not only showing his snarky, sarcastic side, but also the side of him that makes him human.  He was much more than what we saw in the canonical books, as they were told from Harry's POV and he didn't understand Snape until it was too late.

This is super fluffy and warm.  I really like Remus leaving the handkerchief.  I think Remus might have wanted to mend fences, but was unsure how to approach the prickly Snape.  This was obviously one of his first forays into trying to approach him.

It's good to see a student other than a Gryffindor having the courage to approach Snape with a gift; very original.  Gloriana seems a very Hufflepuffish little girl and will probably grow up to be a loyal and true friend to her friends.

I also enjoyed picturing Flitwick all wrapped up in his scarf.  I was picturing him wrapped in his scarf when Umbridge sat in on his class and laughing.

I'm glad to see you writing a fanfic again.  I missed your elegant wordsmithing and your flair for writing characters.  I'm learning so much about writing, not only from your help as a beta, but also by reading your wonderful stories.



Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words about this silly little piece of fluff.  I authored Never Alone over a year ago, and as I'm beginning to polish up some old stories and post them here, I wanted to share this one as well.  Although I've certainly seen Snape written better elsewhere, I do hope my love for this complex character somehow comes through in my writing.  I agree that there was much more to him than was shown in canon and it's up to the Snapecentric writers among us to do him justice.  And yes, this story is warm and fluffy fluffiness, all the way through, from cute little Gloriana crushing on the Potions Master to the final scene between Minerva and Snape.  Thanks for taking the time to read and leave a review - it means so much to me.


You must login (register) to review.