|
Reviews For Bodies at Rest

Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 16/09/10 3:19 AM · Chapter: Diagon Alley

Honey, it was worth the wait!!!!!!!

This story is SO multi-layered that even I will have to really have to watch out I don't get lost in all the twists and turns! HE!HE!HE!

Poor Mr. Olivander . . . but his nephew looks likes to have a good deal of potential . . not only in carrying on the sotre's tradition, but as a member of this story's cast

Bravo!



Author's Response:

Well, first of all, thank you for waiting.  I appreciate the reading, since it's been so long since I updated.

 

I hope I don't lose you in the twists.  There's really only 2 stories going on in here; George's and Harry's.  Everything else is to set the scene or add to it.

 

I don't think you'll see Mr Ollivander's nephew, James, again, but he could pop up in a later chapter.

 

Glad you enjoyed the story, though.



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 07/02/10 2:11 PM · Chapter: Unexpected Visitors
Ah, the letter from Hogwarts, and the trip to Diagon Alley, the start of the next phase of George's life. It'll be interesting to see how he and Teddy get on with each other. . . I bet they wind up being the next generation Harry/Ron best buds. . . Maruders redux, redux.
The Ministry lady really was only doing her job, but it was sad to see it upset George so much, hope he gets over that bit of uncertainty soon.
Good chapter - loved the glowing drumstick bit, too.

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for the reviews. I haven't had a review in quite a while, so I was excited to find some. I'm always happy to see your reviews. Yes, the next chapter is the one I've been dying to write in this story--George meeting Teddy and getting his wand. They will be best buds, so no spoiler there, but it won't be a Ron/Harry sort of thing I don't think, and definitely not Marauders (sorry if you like the Marauders). I promise that you haven't seen the last of Grace Travis-Smythe either. I'm really trying to capture that awkward, unsure pre-teen and I'm glad that you like George's uncertainty as being real and he will grow throughout the story. LOL, I thought the glowing drumstick was very Arthur-like.


Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 07/02/10 1:43 PM · Chapter: A New Nightmare
Now THAT'S an interesting little twist, isn't it? Just when George seems to be settling in, it would be a jolt to learn something negative about his mom.
And poor little Rosie, I guess it'll just take time . . for Harry,too.
Okay on to the next chapter . . sorry I've been absent from reviewing for so long, but now I'm trying to catch up and this story looks to be heating up so . . ONWARD!

Author's Response: I must admit that I struggled with whether or not Arthur and Molly would tell George about his Mum not being his real Mum. I solicited advice on both eHPF and HPFF to gauge reaction first. Looking at it, I think I have it right that they wouldn't tell him unless they knew more for sure. Rosie and Harry's story is supposed to be a parallel storyline to George's. I'm trying to develop each of them finding (or re-finding) what's important to them and coming to terms with who they are. I'm glad you've been enjoying this and don't worry about how long it took you to review. It took me a long time to write and the next chapter will be delayed for a while.


Name: datbenik513 (Signed) · Date: 22/09/09 3:36 AM · Chapter: Watched from Above

Lovely one. I really enjoyed the scene at the shelter. I watch Animal Planet frequently and there are diverse series about RSPCA in diverse countries. This is one of my favourite shows.

Does George's ability with cats have a special meaning?



Author's Response:

George doesn't have an ability with cats.  He said that cats usually avoid him and that Mittens is the only cat that ever liked him. 

 There is an implication about what it means that Crookshanks approves of him and it has to do with the ability of kneazles.  I also subtly hinted at it when Luna approved of him, as well.  George has the stamp of approval of the two best judges of character in the books.  That's it.

I really like the shelter scene, as well.  I love Susan's nastiness and then her 'helpfulness' after the letter.  Bella_Portia really helped me a lot with that.

Thanks for the review.  I appreciate your kind words.

 



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 20/09/09 12:08 AM · Chapter: Watched from Above

It was a very interesting chapter and went smoothly and quickly, even if you thought if a bit long.  Loved Harry's being able to mix Muggle and magical so easily.

I imagine we'll now start getting to the exciting part, so I'll wait patiently for your next post!



Author's Response:

Yeah, I believe that Harry really straddles the divide between the Muggle and Wizard world.  I think he and Hermione would both do that very well.  I really want the chapters to be 2,500 to 3,000 words, but this had a lot of important info in it and I just couldn't divide it easily, so ~5,000 words it is.

 I don't think this fic will have a lot of exciting parts, but I hope it has lots of intriguing/interesting/shocking ones... HeHeHe.



Name: datbenik513 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/09 3:21 AM · Chapter: Too Many Georges

More introductions; I like how bring our old friends back into the picture. You even manage to stay canon-compliant, for a change :D

I wonder what made you write canon this time :D



Author's Response:

Well, I wouldn't say this story is canon.  It has canon ships, but it's quite different from JKRs vision.  For me it falls in that range that's not harshly AU, but is definitely not canon.  I really thought that with the amount of strangeness from George and the plotline of a conspiracy that it needed a familiar backdrop of canon-ness.  This fic will have a lot of small snippets from the books to give it that familiar backdrop.

 I'm getting excited because I'm getting to the chapter where George gets his wand and I can't wait to write it.



Name: datbenik513 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/09 3:18 AM · Chapter: A New Home

Georgie gets a typical Weasley welcome. Such a wonderful family they are! The meeting of George and Georgie must have been a tough one to write, but you it pulled off wonderfully.

The boy will have some more surprises for us, I'm afraid... he's got more than one talent, let's hope, only good ones!



Author's Response:

Sigh, yes, two Georges.  It was a fairly important part of 'Graverobbers' that his name be George for the connection to dead Fred, but I knew it would be a headache when George Weasley was introduced.  At least G.W. won't be a major part of the story, so I don't have to sweat it much.

Yes, he has some odd talents and soon you'll see another...and no, not only good ones; like most people, he's a mix of good and bad and only time will tell if he becomes Luke or Anakin falls into the Dark Side becomes attracted to the Dark Arts.



Name: datbenik513 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/09 3:15 AM · Chapter: Meeting the Weasleys

My previous question had been answered. Good! It's indeed Amos Diggory. I wonder how he's gotten the position of Headmaster anyway...

I daresay the Weasleysare the perfect choice to help little George. I like him, your OC. Marvellous job portraying him!



Author's Response:

I promise that I'll answer the question about Amos when Harry actually gets to Hogwarts, probably about five chapters from now.

 I'm hoping to keep George out of Gary-Stu country by giving him flaws, because he's definitely going to have some strange powers.   Yes, I agree with WeasleyTwinMom that the Weasleys would be excellent for fostering children.  I love that we each had come up with the idea on our own.  I did check with her first to make sure it wasn't too close to "The Road Home".



Name: datbenik513 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/09 3:09 AM · Chapter: A Midnight Call

I was eager to read this sequel as I loved the wonderfully creepy idea behind Graverobbers.

This one ties nicely into your universe and you've put down an intricate in medias res star. I also likes the imagery at some places.

Headmaster Diggory should be Amos Diggory, right?



Author's Response:

Hey!  Thanks for the reviews.  Just so you know, even though this has Conner, it's not the same universe as "The Dementor's First Kiss".  It's a second AU story.

 Yes, the Headmaster is Amos...for plot reasons yet to be revealed.

Hopefully, this should be less creepy and more suspense, if I get it right.



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 26/08/09 3:45 AM · Chapter: Too Many Georges

Well, it's always better to just jump in, feet first, so being dropped into the midst of the Weasleys will probably be good for George.

So, Dudley is a before and after ad is he? There's hope for him yet!

Ron's 'good-bye' at the Mihistry was funny, you'd have thought he was never going to see Harry again.  Right, like THAT would happen.

Okay, ONWARD!

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response:

Dudley might make another apperance here, but it would be a cameo if he does; I'm still not sure yet.  He's definitely not as reformed in this story as he is in 'Dudley and Lavender'.  George still hasn't met Bill or Charlie (and probably won't meet Charlie in this story, though Bill will make a brief appearance).

 I'm glad you're enjoying this.  Thank you for the review.



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 19/08/09 2:44 PM · Chapter: A New Home

Sweet Mary, Mother of Pearl!

Kid's not in the house 2 minutes and he saves Percy's life by seeing what's about to happen and getting Harry to go to him.

THAT"s  what the Dept. of Mysteries is interested in, I bet.  He's got multiple powers, but why the seizures? Hummmm, that is the tricky bit.

Bet we'll find out at St. Mungo's, huh?

HE!HE!HE!



Author's Response:

He's definitely got multiple strange powers, but I hope I save him from Gary-Stu by balancing him out nicely with flaws.  I can neither confirm nor deny what the Dept. of Mysteries is interested in.  Seizures are traditional in story-telling with soothsaying, maybe not in the HP-verse, but other stories and it's a trope I like.

Thanks so much for the review.



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 17/08/09 12:51 PM · Chapter: Meeting the Weasleys

Very, very interesting and insightful chapter.

Reminds me of when my parents went to meet my soon to be adopted sister when she was six, sitting in a room with the socila worker watching and listening and getting to know each other.

I think the kid's going to like living with the Weasleys.



Author's Response:

Wow!  If it reminds you of a real-life situation, that makes me extremely happy!  I really want it to feel real that way, and I was very worried about that.  He will definitely like the Weasley's place.  Wouldn't you like to live in the Burrow?  I know I would.

 Thank you for the review.  I actually have the next two chapters written, and they've both been betaed and are ready for editing.



Name: Holly Ilex (Signed) · Date: 04/08/09 9:01 PM · Chapter: A Midnight Call

Having enjoyed "Graverobbers", this looks to be a very interesting start to a sequel . . . now, I just wonder which wizarding family Harry could be thinking of when he was talking about a foster family for George. . . hmmmm? *snicker, snicker*

I think Harry does need a change of scenery and maybe a bit less pressure from his job . . . sounds a bit like PTSS to me. (post traumatic stress syndrome)

ANYWAY, look forward to more of this story.



Author's Response:

Definitely something like ptsd for Harry.  Thanks so much for your review.  You review everything and I'm amazed that you do so; I bow down to you. 

If you think it's Harry and Ginny, then you're incorrect.  If you think it's some other family, possibly one with red hair, they you might be right... :)

I actually have the next 2 chapters written and ready to be betaed!  I've never been that far ahead with a project before.



You must login (register) to review.